YOU ARE HERE: Home > Awards and Grants > Awards, Medals and Prizes > History of Astronomy or Geophysics Medal

I want information on:

Information for:

Awards, Medals and Prizes

History of Astronomy or Geophysics Medal

The History of Astronomy or Geophysics Medal is awarded to an individual who has achieved outstanding personal research into the history of astronomy or geophysics.


Word nomination form

pdf nomination form


Nominations should be submitted to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 31 July for the following year's awards and should include:

  • The above nomination form
  • A full CV
  • A short list of key refereed publications (preferably with citation data. Ideally, this publication list should be extracted from the Astrophysics Data System)
  • Your nomination (minimum length 300 words, maximum length 600 words). This should address how the nominee fulfils the criteria of the Award. The nomination should also include the nominee's present career stage, the nominee's present post, and other awards and honours. Successful nominations argue a strong case for why the nominee deserves the award over and above one of their peers working in the same area. It is helpful if the nomination is phrased in such a way that extracts from it can be used in the formal recommendation of the Committee.
  • Additionally, you should ask two referees to send supporting statements directly to the above address by the same deadline.



Proposed in 2015, as a dedicated medal for historical research rather than awarding the Jackson-Gwilt Medal every five years.  The first medal is to be awarded in 2017, then in 2020 to coincide with the bicentenary of the RAS.  The full name of the medal will be announced later in 2016.