YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2012 > RAS thesis prizes

I want information on:

Information for:


RAS thesis prizes

Last Updated on Friday, 14 June 2013 10:08
Published on Friday, 30 November 2012 15:35

White - small for webNominations are invited for the RAS thesis prizes, to recognise the best doctoral theses completed in the UK during 2012.

Separate awards are made for theses in astronomy & astrophysics (the Michael Penston Prize) and in geophysics (the Keith Runcorn Prize). Winners receive £1000 and an invitation to present their results at an RAS meeting. Runners up receive a £50 book token.

Both prizes are sponsored by Oxford University Press, and the deadline for nominations is 31 January 2013. For further details of the criteria and nomination process, see the articles on each award.