YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2006 > Nobel Prize goes to American Astrophysicists

I want information on:

Information for:


Nobel Prize goes to American Astrophysicists

Last Updated on Sunday, 01 December 2013 20:49
Published on Tuesday, 03 October 2006 00:00
The President of the RAS salutes their achievement.

In welcomding the news that the Nobel Prize for Physics had been awarded jointly to John Mather and George Smoot,  Professor  Michael Rowan-Robinson, President of the  Royal Astronomical Society added...

'The demonstration of the perfect blackbody form of the cosmic microwave background spectrum by John Mather and his team, and the detection of fluctuations in the cosmic background radiation by George Smoot and his team, are among the most significant discoveries in astronomy of the past century.
The blackbody form demonstrates the correctness of the Hot Big Bang model, in which matter and radiation were locked together in thermal equilibrium for the first 300,000 years after the initial singularity. The fluctuations show that galaxies and clusters of galaxies grew from very small seed fluctuations in the early universe through gravitational aggregation.'

Further information is available on the Nobel Prize web site