YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2014 > 2014 winners of the RAS awards, medals and prizes

I want information on:

Information for:


2014 winners of the RAS awards, medals and prizes

Last Updated on Tuesday, 21 January 2014 14:45
Published on Friday, 10 January 2014 16:30

The Royal Astronomical Society is pleased to announce the 2014 winners of its awards, medals and prizes. The President, Prof. David Southwood, made the announcement at the Ordinary Meeting of the society held on Friday 10 January 2014. The winners will be invited to collect their awards at the Society's 2014 National Astronomy Meeting.

sgoldfrontThe Gold Medal of the RASEach year the RAS recognises significant achievement in the fields of astronomy and geophysics through these awards. The Society's highest honour is its Gold Medal, which is awarded for lifetime achievement. pdfPast winners include Albert Einstein, Edwin Hubble, Arthur Eddington and Stephen Hawking. Since 1964 two have been awarded each year: one for astronomy, and one for geophysics.

Carlos FrenkProf. Carlos Frenk, winner of the Gold Medal for astronomyThe winner of the Gold Medal in astronomy is Prof. Carlos Frenk, for his contributions to the Cold Dark Matter theory for the origin of galaxies and cosmic structures in the universe (full citation).

Gold Award G John ZarneckiProf. John Zarnecki, winner of the Gold Medal for geophysicsThe winner of the Gold Medal in geophysics is Prof. John Zarnecki, for his work on instrumentation for space missions, and his analysis and interpretation of the resulting data (full citation).

The Society also awards a number of other medals and prizes; the winners are listed below. Awards are designated 'A' for the fields of astronomy (including astrophysics, cosmology etc.) and 'G' for the fields of geophysics (including solar physics, planetary science, solar-terrestrial physics etc.); some awards are given in both fields.

Prof. Southwood congratulated the winners, saying: "For nearly two centuries the RAS has supported the work of astronomers and geophysicists in the UK and around the world. It gives me the greatest pleasure to announce the winners of our medals and awards for 2014, recognising the extraordinarily talented men and women who reach the highest levels of achievement in our field."

For more information on the awards and the achievements of the winners, follow the links or see our full press release.


List of winners

Awards, medals and prizes:

Gold Medal
Prof. Carlos Frenk (A)
Prof. John Zarnecki (G)
Eddington Medal (A)
Prof. Andrew King
Price Medal (G)
Prof. Seth Stein
Herschel Medal (A)
Prof. Reinhard Genzel
Jackson-Gwilt Medal (A)
Prof. George Fraser
Chapman Medal (G)
Prof. Louise Harra
Fowler Prize
Dr Joanna Dunkley (A)
Dr Alex Copley (G)
Winton Capital Award
Dr Benjamin Joachimi (A)
Dr Chris Davies (G)
Group Achievement Award
The Herschel-SPIRE consortium (A)
The Magnetometer Team for the Cassini spacecraft (G)
RAS Service Award
Prof. Mark Lester
Patrick Moore Medal
Miss Hayley Flood
Honorary Fellowship of the RAS
Prof. Joshua Frieman (A)
Prof. Roberta Humphreys (A)
Prof. Rajmal Jain (G)
Prof. Alain Omont (A)

'Named' lectures to be delivered at a meeting of the Society:

Gerald Whitrow Lecture (A)
Prof. Ofer Lahav
George Darwin Lecture (A)
Prof. James Dunlop
Harold Jeffreys Lecture (G)
Prof. Alexander Halliday
James Dungey Lecture (G)
Prof. Sandra Chapman