YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2014 > Elections 2014

I want information on:

Information for:


Elections 2014

Last Updated on Friday, 09 May 2014 16:11
Published on Friday, 09 May 2014 16:11

The results of the 2014 RAS elections were announced at the Annual General Meeting of the society on 9 May.



Elected in 2013, Martin Barstow, Professor of Astrophysics and Space Science at the University of martin barstowLeicester begins his two year term of office as President. He has served on the RAS Council from 2005-2013, originally as a councillor and later as Astronomy Secretary. Prof. Barstow's research interests are in white dwarfs, the local interstellar medium, and UV instrumentation. He is also involved in outreach and science policy, for example serving on STFC Council and advisory boards for the UK and European Space Agencies.





Vice-President (A)
Professor Mike Edmunds of the University of Cardiff is elected Vice-President (A) and will serve a term of two years.

Vice-President (G)
Professor Jim Wild of the University of Lancaster is elected Vice-President (G) and will serve a term of two years.



The following Fellows were elected to serve on Council, the governing body of the society:


Martin Bureau (A)

Stacey Habergham (A)

Jane MacArthur (G)

Simon Mitton (A)

The councillors will serve terms of three years, except for Simon Mitton who will serve for two years only.


(A) denotes the fields of astronomy (including cosmology, astrobiology, astrochemistry, astroparticle physics, computational astrophysics etc.)
(G) denotes the fields of geophysics (including geophysical fluid dynamics, planetary sciences, solar-terrestrial physics etc.)

More details and policy statements from the candidates who took part in the elections are available.