YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2014 > Leading astronomers and space scientists recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours

I want information on:

Information for:


Leading astronomers and space scientists recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours

Last Updated on Monday, 16 June 2014 13:26
Published on Monday, 16 June 2014 14:00

The Royal Astronomical Society congratulates the astronomers and space scientists recognised in the 2014 Queen's Birthday Honours. The UK government traditionally issues national honours to mark the monarch's official birthday, which this year was celebrated on 14 June. Recipients honoured in 2014 include:

  • OBE medalThe medal awarded to recipients of the OBEDr Helen Mason, Reader in Solar Physics, University of Cambridge and a Fellow of the RAS. Dr Mason receives an OBE for her services to higher education and to women in science, engineering and technology.
  • Anupam Ojha, Director of the National Space Academy, Director of Education and Space Communications at the National Space Centre, and a Fellow of the RAS. Mr Ojha receives an OBE for his services to science education.
  • Prof. Alan Hibbert, Deputy Chair of the Management Committee, Armagh Observatory and Planetarium, and Dept of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, Queen's University Belfast. Prof. Hibbert receives an MBE for his services to astronomy.
  • Prof. Colin McInnes, Director of the Advanced Space Concepts Laboratory at the University of Strathclyde and a Fellow of the RAS. Prof. McInnes receives an MBE for services to space research, science and technology.

Prof. Martin Barstow, President of the RAS, commented: "The UK is home to some of the most talented astronomers in the world, many of whom make a significant contribution to wider society. These honours recognise their accomplishments in tackling the under-representation of women in our science, scientific research, and the public engagement work which is so important for encouraging a new generation to pursue careers in science and technology. It is a pleasure to offer my congratulations to Helen, Anu, Alan and Colin on their respective awards."

The RAS can nominate individuals for national honours; suggestions for suitable recipients will be gratefully received.