YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2014 > Winners of the NAM poster prizes

I want information on:

Information for:


Winners of the NAM poster prizes

Last Updated on Monday, 08 September 2014 14:50
Published on Thursday, 10 July 2014 14:32

The RAS congratulates the winners of the prizes for best poster presentations at this year's National Astronomy Meeting (NAM). Awards were made in two categories: PhD students, and postdoctoral researchers. In each category the winner received a prize of £350 and the runner up received £150.


PhD students

Winner: Milena Pawlik (University of St Andrews), for her poster 'Quantitative study of morphological changes in galaxies progressing through a post-starburst phase'

Runner up: Susan Wilson (University of KwaZulu-Natal), for her poster 'Investigating XCS galaxy clusters with Gemini'



Winner: Jonathan Thurgood (Northumbria University) for his poster 'The first direct measurements of transverse waves in solar polar plumes using SDO/AIA'

Runner up: Joanna Barstow (University of Oxford) for her poster 'Gloomy planets: modelling cloudy atmospheres'

pawlik poster prizewilson poster prizebarstow poster prizeMilena Pawlik, Susan Wilson and Joanna Barstow receive their poster prizes. Click on each to enlarge. Credit: Mike Cooter / Royal Astronomical Society

The prizes were presented by the President of the RAS, Martin Barstow, during the NAM awards ceremony (with the exception of Thurgood who was unable to attend). The RAS is grateful to the sponsors who funded these prizes: Oxford University Press sponsored the student prizes, and Winton Capital sponsored the postdoc prizes.