YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2016

I want information on:

Information for:


Reminder: Nomination deadline for RAS PhD thesis prizes

A reminder that the nomination deadline for the RAS Prizes for the best PhD theses in astronomy (the Michael Penston Prize) and geophysics (the Keith Runcorn Prize) is 31 January 2016.


RAS logoEach year the RAS recognises the best PhD theses in astronomy and geophysics completed in the UK. 

Two prizes are available: one for astronomy, and one for geophysics. The winners receive £1000 and an invitation to present the results of their thesis at a meeting of the RAS. The runners up will receive £50 book tokens. The prizes are sponsored by Oxford University Press, who also publish the RAS journals.

Nominees must have completed their PhD (viva held and all corrections completed) at a UK university during 2015. For more details and to submit a nomination, see the pages on each prize:

  • Oxford University PressThe Michael Penston prize, for theses in astronomy and astrophysics, including cosmology, astrobiology etc.
  • The Keith Runcorn prize, for theses in geophysics, including seismology, solar physics, planetary science etc.

A separate Patricia Tomkins thesis prize for PhDs in instrumentation is also available, but will be the subject of a separate call for nominations.

GJI 2016 Student Author Award winners
Geophysical Journal International (GJI) is delighted to announce the winners of its Student Author Awards for 2016.  The awards are designed to recognise and... More
Last updated on Thursday, 08 December 2016 14:53
Published on Tuesday, 05 January 2016 16:49