YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2005 > International Review of UK Physics and Astronomy

I want information on:

Information for:


International Review of UK Physics and Astronomy

Last Updated on Tuesday, 31 January 2006 11:30
Published on Wednesday, 11 May 2005 00:00
articles.jpgA panel of eminent international scientists which will review the quality of physics and astronomy research in the UK was announced today.

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (PPARC), the Institute of Physics and the Royal Astronomical Society are jointly sponsoring a second international review of physics and astronomy in the UK.

The Review, which follows on from an initial review of physics and astronomy research undertaken in April 2000, will report on the quality, distribution of effort and future potential of research in physics and astronomy in the UK. The Review will aim to indicate areas of strength, weakness, improvement, decline and growth with respect to the preceding review.

The Review will be undertaken by an International Panel of eminent scientists who will visit the UK during the week beginning 31 October 2005. The Panel will be chaired by Professor Jürgen Mlynek*, President of the Humboldt University, Germany. The Panel members will visit several university physics and astronomy departments and the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Oxfordshire. The Panel will also have the opportunity to take evidence from relevant individuals involved in research, higher education and science policy.
The Panel is expected to report by the end of 2005.

The Review is being organized by a Steering Committee comprising Professor Sir John Enderby (Chair; President, Institute of Physics), Professor John O’Reilly (Chief Executive, EPSRC), Professor Richard Wade (Chief Executive, PPARC) and Professor Kathy Whaler (President, Royal Astronomical Society).

- - ends - -

For further information about the Review please contact:

EPSRC: Jane Nicholson, EPSRC, Polaris House, North Star Avenue, Swindon SN2 1ET.
Tel: 01793 444000. Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Notes to editors:

1. Membership of the International Panel:

Professor Jürgen Mlynek, Humboldt University, Germany [Chair]
Professor David Gross, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, USA
Professor Stephen Forrest, Princeton University, USA
Professor Rick Casten, Yale University, USA
Professor Roger Blandford, Stanford University, USA
Professor Govind Swarup, National Centre for Radio Astronomy (NCRA), India
Professor Mildred Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
Professor Tuija Pulkkinen, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
Professor Massimo Inguscio, University of Florence, Italy
Professor Sir Anthony Leggett, University of Illinois, USA
Professor Albrecht Wagner, German Synchrotron Research Centre (DESY), Germany
Professor Anton Zeilinger, University of Vienna, Austria
Professor Daan Frenkel, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Professor Hermann Gaub, Munich University, Germany

* Professor Jürgen Mlynek will become the President of the Helmholtz Society, Germany's largest research organisation, in the autumn of 2005.

2. The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) is the UK Government's leading funding agency for research and training in engineering and the physical sciences.

3. The Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (PPARC) is the UK's strategic science investment agency. By directing, coordinating and funding research, education and training in particle physics and astronomy, PPARC delivers world-leading science, technologies and people for the UK.

4. The Institute of Physics is a leading international professional body and learned society with over 37,000 members, which promotes the advancement and dissemination of a knowledge of and education in the science of physics, pure and applied.

5. The Royal Astronomical Society is an international learned society for astronomy & astrophysics, geophysics, solar and solar-terrestrial physics, and planetary sciences.

Further information on the forthcoming Review (and the initial Review undertaken in April 2000) can be found at