YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2005 > RAS Awards 2006

I want information on:

Information for:


RAS Awards 2006

Last Updated on Monday, 12 April 2010 16:20
Published on Tuesday, 09 August 2005 00:00
Fellows of the RAS are encouraged to nominate candidates for the Society's awards to be presented in 2006. The deadline for nominations is 31 October 2005.
   In 2006 the Society expects to award: 

  - Two Gold Medals, one for astronomy, and one for geophysics and planetary science, each recognizing outstanding personal research or leadership (often reflecting a lifetime’s achievements).

 -  Chapman Medal, awarded for investigations of outstanding merit in solar-terrestrial physics, including geomagnetism and aeronomy

 -  Herschel Medal, awarded for investigations of outstanding merit in observational astrophysics;

-  Jackson-Gwilt Medal
, awarded for the invention, improvement, or development of astronomical instrumentation or techniques; for achievement in observational astronomy; or for achievement in research into the history of astronomy

In addition the RAS welcomes nominations for engaging and authoritative speakers, from the UK or overseas, to deliver

·        The Harold Jeffreys Lecture (on a topic in geophysics or planetary sciences) and

·        The George Darwin Lecture (on a topic in astrophysics).

Finally, the Society expects to award

·        Two Fowler Prizes, one in astronomy and one in geophysics.   These are awarded for  particularly noteworthy contributions made in the first decade or so following the start of PhD work, and afford early recognition of that work in order to give the career impetus (includes a £500 cash award).

·        Up to six Associate Memberships for persons eminent in the fields of astronomy and geophysics (three each)


·        RAS Awards for Service to Astronomy and to Geophysics may be awarded in 2006. These awards, made from time to time, recognise individuals whose work in promoting the astrophysical and geophysical sciences in the life of the UK does not fall within the criteria of the Society's awards for research work.

All Fellows of the Royal Astronomical Society are invited to consider the achievements of their colleagues, and to suggest the names of those whom they consider would be appropriate recipients of the Society's awards.   Note that nominees do not have to be Fellows.

Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary, by email (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ;  as plain text, MS-Word, or pdf files), or by post to Burlington House.   They should include contact details for the proposer and nominee, and a brief case for support, addressing how the nominee meets the criteria for the particular award, and including an indication of the nominee's present career stage, present post, key publications, and other awards and honours, if known.   

Nominations for the Fowler Awards must include sufficient information to allow nominees to be assessed, and at least one independent supporting reference should accompany the nomination. (Because of the nature of the award, nominees may not be well known to the Award Committee, so it is essential that a fully self-contained case be made.) 
Nominations for the Harold Jeffreys and George Darwin Lectureships should clearly identify the topic on which the nominee may lecture.
Nominations are expected normally to be the equivalent of up to one A4 side of text. The attached Nomination Form may be used if convenient.