YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2005 > Beagle 2 creator to receive space achievement award

I want information on:

Information for:


Beagle 2 creator to receive space achievement award

Last Updated on Tuesday, 31 January 2006 11:26
Published on Thursday, 24 November 2005 00:00
Prof Colin Pillinger, the inspiration and driving force behind the UK’s Beagle 2 Mars lander, is to be presented with the British Interplanetary Society’s Bronze Space Achievement Medal at a ceremony in London tonight (Thursday, 24 November 2005).

Prof Pillinger will receive the award at the Society’s headquarters (27/29 South Lambeth Road, London, tel 020 7735 3160) at 1830 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to space science. It will be presented by Society president Rex Hall.
The award recognises in particular his vision in conceiving and implementing the Beagle 2 miniaturised life science instrument package on the first British robotic mission to Mars, while noting that his enthusiastic support for the mission has raised public awareness of the excitement and possibilities of space exploration.
Prof Pillinger said: “It was a shame we had to wait 64 years for our first all British interplanetary mission and I hope we don’t have to wait another 64 years for the next one.”
The British Interplanetary Society (BIS) was founded in 1933 and is the world’s longest established organisation devoted solely to supporting and promoting the exploration of space and astronautics through meetings, publications, visits and exhibitions.
The Society serves both space flight professionals and those with a general interest in space flight and astronautics. It has a worldwide membership and is actively devoted to supporting forward looking policies and visionary thinking towards the advancement of space flight.
The were instituted in 1961 to recognise outstanding individual work in various fields of astronautics, without restriction as regards nationality or membership of the Society; an award may be made either for a single specific project of great merit, or for continuing work over a long period.
Previous recipients of the Bronze Space Achievement Medal include: S Fred Singer; Andrew G Haley; Karel J Bossart (1962), Ernst Stuhlinger; John P Stapp; H E Ross; George Hoover (1970), Dr W Stephens; Arnold Fruitkin; S. Hoffman (1972), Chesley Bonestell (1976),  Capt Bob Freitag (1979), Helen Sharman (1991),  Roy Gibson (1992), Prof Bill McLaughlin (1993), Patrick Moore (1997) and Prof Martin Sweeting (1998).
Following this evening’s presentation and photo opportunity, Prof Pillinger will give a short talk entitled ‘Beagle 2 and Beyond’.
For further information:
Suszann Parry – tel, 020 7735 3160.

This press notice from the British Interplanetary Society is forwarded for your information by Peter Bond, Royal Astronomical Society Communications Officer. Forwarding does not imply endorsement by the RAS.