YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News and Press > News 2017 > Election results 2017: new RAS Council

I want information on:

Information for:


Election results 2017: new RAS Council

Last Updated on Friday, 12 May 2017 16:30
Published on Friday, 13 May 2016 15:51

The results of the 2017 RAS elections were announced at the Annual General Meeting of the Society on Friday 12 May.


The following Fellows were elected to serve on Council, the governing body of the Society:

President (Elect): Prof Mike Cruise

Vice President (G): Prof Ian Crawford

Vice President (A): Mr Charles Barclay

Secretary (G): Prof Mark Lester


The President Elect will serve for one year before succeeding the current President for two years, and the vice-presidents will serve terms of two years each.

Four councillors are elected for a three year term:

Dr Megan Argo

Mr Mark Woodland

Prof Steve Miller

Dr Clare Watt



Short biographies of all of the new and current Councillors can be found here.


White - small for web