YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2007 > Three RAS fellows elected to Royal Society

I want information on:

Information for:


Three RAS fellows elected to Royal Society

Last Updated on Thursday, 07 June 2007 10:26
Published on Tuesday, 22 May 2007 00:00
Professors Jeremy Bloxham, Jerry Ostriker and George Ellis have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to science.

Professor Jeremy Bloxham
is the Mallinckrodt Professor of Geophysics in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Harvard University and became a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society in 1987.

His election recognises his research on the origin of magnetic fields in the planets of the solar system. His first major contribution was to use historical measurements of the direction of  the Earth's magnetic field to construct maps of the evolution of the field at the core-mantle boundary.

Professor George Francis Rayner Ellis is Emeritus Professor of Applied Mathematics and Honorary Research Associate in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Cape Town. He became a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society in 1970.

He is honoured for his work on relativity and cosmology. With Stephen Hawking, he showed that general relativity predicted a 'big bang' singularity in our past. He pioneered an influential programme to study and classify solutions of Einstein's equations and formalised the analysis of observables in cosmology. As President of the Royal Society of South Africa and in other roles, he has been an influential figure in science and education in that country.

Professor Jeremiah Ostriker is Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and the Director of the Princeton Institute for Computational Science and Engineering in the Department of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton University. He became an Associate of the RAS in 1994.

Professor Ostriker is elected in recognition of his work as one of the world's most productive and influential astrophysicists, with an extraordinary record of research and scientific leadership  extending over 40 years. He is the author or co-author of classic papers on pulsars, galactic dynamics, dark matter, cosmic rays, intergalactic gas, cosmic structure formation, and cosmology. Over the last decade he has become a leader in the computational study of structure formation.

More information on the new Royal Society fellows can be found at