YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2008 > John Barrow wins Faraday Prize

I want information on:

Information for:


John Barrow wins Faraday Prize

Last Updated on Wednesday, 05 May 2010 15:29
Published on Tuesday, 02 September 2008 00:00
The Royal Society's Michael Faraday Prize for science communication has been awarded to John Barrow, FRAS, Professor of Mathematical Sciences at Cambridge.
The annual award is presented to a scientist or engineer for exemplary expertise in communicating scientific ideas to a lay audience. Previous winners include Richard Dawkins and David Attenborough.

Professor Barrow's research has covered cosmology, gravitation, and particle physics, authoring more than 430 scientific articles and 19 books, which have been translated into 28 languages, and the award-winning play Infinities.

His works have explored the wider historical, philosophical and cultural effects of developments in mathematics, physics and astronomy. He is a frequent speaker to audiences of all types around the world. His most recent book, Cosmic Imagery, is about the influence of pictures on science.
Professor Barrow is a former member of the Council of the RAS and the first Gerald Whitrow Lecturer as well as a former Darwin Lecturer.  In 2008 he won the Templeton Prize