YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2013 > Election results: new President and Council

I want information on:

Information for:


Election results: new President and Council

Last Updated on Tuesday, 18 June 2013 10:14
Published on Friday, 10 May 2013 16:00

The results of the 2013 RAS elections were announced at the Annual General Meeting of the society on 10 May. The following Fellows were elected to serve on Council, the governing body of the society:



martin barstowProf. Martin Barstow, elected as the next President of the RASProf. Martin Barstow

Martin Barstow is Professor of Astrophysics and Space Science at the University of Leicester. He has served on the RAS Council from 2005-2013, originally as a councillor and later as Astronomy Secretary. Prof. Barstow's research interests are in white dwarfs, the local interstellar medium, and UV instrumentation. He is also involved in outreach and science policy, for example serving on STFC Council and advisory boards for the UK and European Space Agencies.

Prof. Barstow will serve for one year as President Elect before succeeding the current President, Prof. David Southwood, in May 2014.


Vice Presidents

Prof. Gillian Foulger (G)

Dr Andrew Norton (A)

The vice presidents will serve terms of two years.



Mandy Bailey (A)

The secretary will serve a term of up to five years.



Prof. John Brown (G)

Dr Sarah Matthews (G)

Prof. Paul Murdin (A)

Prof. Peter Coles (A)

The councillors will serve terms of three years, except for Prof. Coles who will serve for one year only.


(A) denotes the fields of astronomy (including cosmology, astrobiology, astrochemistry, astroparticle physics, computational astrophysics etc.)

(G) denotes the fields of geophysics (including geophysical fluid dynamics, planetary sciences, solar-terrestrial physics etc.)


More pdfdetails and policy statements from the candidates who took part in the elections are available.