YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2014 > RAS Fellows honoured in Institute of Physics awards

I want information on:

Information for:


RAS Fellows honoured in Institute of Physics awards

Last Updated on Tuesday, 01 July 2014 16:09
Published on Tuesday, 01 July 2014 16:00

RAS logoThe Royal Astronomical Society congratulates its Fellows who have been honoured with awards from the Institute of Physics (IoP). In its 2014 awards, announced on 1 July, the IoP recognised the achievements of:

  • Prof. Anthony R. Bell FRAS (Oxford University and Rutherford Appleton Laboratory), who receives the Hoyle medal for his work on cosmic rays and energy transport in plasmas. This work has led to significant advances in our understanding of particle astrophysics and astrophysical plasmas.
  • Professor Tim O'Brien FRAS and Dr Teresa Anderson FRAS (both University of Manchester), who jointly receive the Kelvin medal for their work in public outreach. The award recognises their roles in creating the Discovery Centre at Jodrell Bank Observatory, which opened in 2011 and reaches 16,000 schoolchildren per year through its outreach programme.

Prof. Martin Barstow, President of the RAS, commented: "These IoP prizes recognise the importance of research in advancing our understanding of the universe, and the public engagement work which is so important for encouraging a new generation to pursue careers in science and technology. I offer my congratulations to Tony, Tim and Teresa on their well-deserved awards."

The RAS is currently seeking nominations for its own awards.