YOU ARE HERE: Home > News & Press > News archive > News 2015 > RAS awards ceremony

I want information on:

Information for:


RAS awards ceremony

Last Updated on Tuesday, 14 July 2015 08:46
Published on Monday, 13 July 2015 13:53

Last Wednesday (8 July) distinguished astronomers from the UK and around the world came to Llandudno to receive awards and medals at the annual RAS National Astronomy Meeting. Hosted by comedian and amateur astronomer Jon Culshaw and RAS President Prof Martin Barstow, the honours recognised the achievements of scientists in diverse fields and at different stages of their careers.


The full list of awards and the 2015 winners is available from the RAS website, along with the full details on how to nominate for the 2016 awards.


Michel MayorProf. Michel Mayor, winner of the Gold Medal for astronomy.


Mike LockwoodProf. Mike Lockwood, winner of the Gold Medal for geophysics.


Rashid SunyaevProf. Rashid Sunyaev, winner of the Eddington Medal.


Jon BrodholtProf. John Brodholt, winner of the Price Medal.


Stephen EalesProf. Stephen Eales, winner of the Herschel Medal.


Alan HoodProf. Alan Hood, winner of the Chapman Medal.


Haley GomezProf. Haley Gomez, winner of the Fowler Prize in astronomy.


Michal MichalowskiDr Michal Michalowski, winner of the Winton Capital Award in astronomy.


Richard MortonDr Richard Morton, winner of the Winton Capital Award in geophysics.


Simon GarringtonProf. Simon Garrington, leader of the e-MERLIN team at Jodrell Bank Observatory, winners of the Group Achievement Award in astronomy.


Louise HarraProf. Louise Harra, leader of the Hinode Extreme Ultraviolet Imaging Spectrometer (EIS) team, winners of the Group Achievement Award in geophysics.


Lidia van Driel-GesztelyiProf. Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, winner of the Service Award.


Sarah Llewellyn-DaviesSarah Llewellyn-Davies, winner of the Patrick Moore Medal.


Katherine BlundellProf. Katherine Blundell, who will deliver the George Darwin lecture.


Anthony WattsProf. Anthony Watts, who will deliver the Harold Jeffreys lecture.


Helen MasonDr Helen Mason, who will deliver the James Dungey lecture.


Monique HensonMonique Henson, winner of the NAM2015 PhD poster competition.


Sean BlakeSeán Blake, runner-up in the NAM2015 poster competition.


Simon CandelaresiDr Simon Candelaresi, winner of the NAM2015 postdoc poster competition.