YOU ARE HERE: Home > RAS Policy > Science policy > Inquiry into the Science Budget allocations

I want information on:

Information for:

Science policy

Inquiry into the Science Budget allocations

The President of the RAS will give evidence to the House of Commons  Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee.
The Innovation, Universities and Skills Committee is holding a short inquiry into the Science Budget allocations.  The first evidence session will be on Monday 21 January 2008 when evidence will be heard from:
Panel 1
Institute of Physics  and the Royal Astronomical Society

Panel 2 (at 5.00pm) Science and Technology Facilities Council and Research Councils UK

The session will take place in Committee Room 6 at 4.15pm.

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis.  There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms.  It is advisable to allow about 30 minutes to pass through security checks.  Committee rooms and the timing of meetings are subject to change. Those interested in attending the session should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


Committee Membership is as follows:

Mr Phil Willis (Liberal Democrat, Harrogate and Knaresborough)(Chairman)

Mr Tim Boswell (Conservative, Daventry)

Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods (Labour, City of Durham)

Mr Ian Cawsey (Labour, Brigg & Goole)

Mrs Nadine Dorries (Conservative, Mid Bedfordshire)

Dr Ian Gibson (Labour, Norwich North)

Dr Evan Harris (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)

Dr Brian Iddon (Labour, Bolton South East)

Mr Gordon Marsden (Labour, Blackpool South)

Dr Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)

Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles)

Mr Graham Stringer (Labour, Manchester, Blackley)

Dr Desmond Turner (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)

Mr Rob Wilson (Conservative, Reading East)

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates